Case2: the chatty students
synopsis: when a chatty student fails to keep quiet, despite numerous interventions, a new junior seconadry school language arts teacher threatens to have the student removed from another teacher’s class

For the case, If I where he/she teacher, I have a step for making this students to keep quiet. This is my step:

  • Communicate the rules in class regarding talking. In conveying those rules to students, make it  clear when students are allowed to talk and when they are not. I might also tell the students that they are not allowed to talk when i am teaching or when a classmate is asking or answering.
  • Use nonverbal cues. Make eye contact with the student and give a signal. Talk with him privately and agree on a signal I will give when I need him to stop talking. The idea is to give him a reminder without interrupting the flow of the lesson.
  • Move
