2012 was opened by a great campus-day! In the morning, for the first time I felt no drowsiness at all in DM class. This was quite strange, a good strange of course. However, I just had a positive attitude toward the day. MMSEL class just increased that feeling. In the class, we learned from Namirah et all’s group about planning for effective classroom management. Again, we have to do a group work about it. There were 4 sub topics and my group got the ‘developmental differences influence classroom management’ one. This sub topic mainly talked about how the teacher has to adjust the teaching planning with students’ developmental stages. For example, the classroom management plan for primary students will be differ from the one for secondary students. It was just undeniable (of course it was. There is no secondary-student-who-is-a-teen that wants to be treated like a child, right?). Now, the matter is that not every teacher realize about this significance. We can see how these teachers really treat their students unfairly. Well, I was one of those unfortunate students actually.

When I was in high school, I had a PE teacher. He just hated me because I couldn’t keep up with his exhausting lesson. This teacher, since I always get great marks for every subject but his, always tried to humiliate me in the front of public, including asked me to do something that he knew that I wouldn’t be able to. Well, maybe the case is too extreme but the point is this teacher did not aware with his student’s developmental stage and could not make an appropriate class that was fair for all students. The other example was the other teacher who seemed to be used to teach at elementary school. She treated her young-adult students as well as she treated children. This was just very annoying.

Now, the problem is that can I be a teacher who is aware to students’ developmental stage? Moreover, can I create a classroom that can accommodate all students’ needs fairly? For this one, I am quite optimistic. God just blesses me with a quite good awareness about others’ condition. Some people will say it as starts of “kepo”, but I think as long as we can use it for goodness sake, why not? J

The other part of the lesson that day that I liked was the rule making. I had been teaching toddlers and children, and also storm-and-stressed teenagers. We can’t just simply equalize their needs of rules. Sometimes some primary students are just more responsible than most secondary students. This is why the first step to make a good plan for our classroom management is awareness about the students. Because, with being aware we will be able to acknowledge.

Firzie B. Ravasia

