The thing that I cannot forget is one week before my presentation coming. Bu Mima said to my group, that next week the stage of the class will be ours. Then, from that time we start to think the idea and search the material for the next week. That will be challenging I thought ;). Just imagine, we will deliver the material about variables of instruction which will motivate students to learn, means we have to make the very clear and good instruction in class for applying the material.

I do really love this stage, because through this way, I can learn a lot about the concept of instruction variable that will I share to the class. Fortunately, I got the lecturing session of the class that already did jigsaw reading. The purpose of lecturing session is to make the same conclusion and standard knowledge after they share their idea in each group. Of course before the class begins, I have to know the detail about the whole concepts. In the end of this session, then we make a conclusion and try to relate what we learnt for four weeks ago. The highlight of all topics is about motivating classroom. I am happy to do so, since the student also cooperative well in this session, though I do not any technology aid to share this idea.

I do remember to my experience on my senior high school, when teacher gave an instruction in the laboratory. My teacher did not give the clear information written or orally, but the work is given to the students, before they understand what they want to do. After that, the class was very noisy. Annoying students do not do the work, they just having a chit chat, while others are being confused and may question were asked to the teacher. That’s the problem when teacher cannot give the clear instruction, the class cannot managed well, and it can affect to the effectiveness of the course.

From this session I learn about the four factors of instructional variables. First is attracting students attention through question, story or abstract even the eye catching things. Second is about personalization: links to the student’s lives which means teacher can relate the concept to the what students have physically or psychologically. Third is about involvement: involvement can be reached by creating open and ended question so that students feel free to ask and answer. Fourth is about feedback and assessment: assessing students should have a standard criteria, then giving such feedback are also important to build students’ self efficacy.
I learn a lot from the lecture, students also, when the stage is mine. Thank you.

Shopia Mulyani_2009110011

