First, I would like to say thanks for my friend who has guided us in understanding about Instructional Variables, Daen, Vanny, Ulfah, and Vya,  and off course  for Miss. Mima, our cute lecturer 🙂

JIGSAW, that is one kinds of method that is used by Vanny and friends in learning process last day. The topic is about Instructional Variables: how it can increase students’ motivation? Yeah, in this session we learn about it..

When I was in Senior High school, I’m very happy when I got my examination sheet is distributed to me, especially, and to all students generally. From my exam-sheet, I could know about my score (examination results), what I went well done and how I can improve the others criteria, so it could be my reflection for next exam. 🙂

It runs out of what my teacher math did last time, my teacher has applied what I learn now in this campus, especially in MMSEL-Instructional Variables course, or the topic is called it as feedback. We already knew that giving feedback is very important for student’s improvement and gain student’s attention in learning process.  Feedback is able because there is an assessment, so assessment are provided feedback (Butler & McMunn, 2010). Therefore, we as a teacher candidate necessary creates a suitable assessment for our students in the future. Even just a symbol, simple word or we called it as Evaluative feedback, it also contributes to self-regulation. Because by giving feedback, it would give us about our students’ performance, students’ progress to reach their goals itself, etc.  However, if possible and it will be better if we (teacher) can give feedback for our students in specific comments, means that we can give them information what they went well done, and what step that they can increase their task themselves more specific and detail. (or we called it as Descriptive Feedback)

According to me, whoever students if they are involved in learning process, they will be more motivated to follow the lesson during leaning process. But, the matter is how our students can be involved in learning process? I was very happy, our friends have explained us about that ways, that are :

  1. Using Open-Ended Question

Open-Ended Question means that the answer of question are  acceptable. By giving student an open-ended mat-question, hopefully it could students motivation in learning, because they could answer with their own answer which is acceptable. Nevertheless, based on my experience when I was in senior high school, when the teacher give an open-ended question to all students, there are some students who seems like confuse and didn’t feel motivate to learn math. Some of them said to me, that they felt confused if there is no exactly one right answer for the question. 😦

  1. Using Hands-On Activities

Using Hans-On activities, for example when teacher explain the course, teacher can use virtual manipulative, e.g. bring real objects or some kinds of real examples of the course itself. Not only bring a real object, teacher also can give to students some exercises (problem – sheet) and some games to involve students in learning process, hence student’s motivation will be increased. And, I’m felt be more motivated when there is a game in learning process, for example in last week there is a gameChoki-Choki” and this week Tebak Gesture, those activities, makes me more motivated to follow the lesson. 🙂

In my mind, what we have done and discussion in our MMSEL class, Hopefully, we can apply in the future, when we are being a teacher, because we are new generation of teacher. 🙂  🙂 🙂 

Zahra

Math-2009110019

