“:’( “–> Maybe that emoticon can show my feeling when I left XI Social 1 Class.

Enjoy and happy when I stood in front of my students, they also enjoyed my mathematics class.

My class (in my teaching experience) was so kind. In the second last meeting, I still used grouping and collaborative learning to deliver the matter. And also in the end of learning, they had a competition between groups. They still had a spirit to win that competition. Actually, I did not get a difficult class to handle. My students was so cooperative and they wanted to work in their group. But I still found some students that did not give their maximal contribution to their group. They sat in their group, but in fact they just sat and looked at their friends’ work. I, as teacher there, had to control all groups. I asked all members to give their thinking and contribution to their own group. Occasionally, they contributed in solving problem. No problem, it was part of process. Maybe some students in that class had not been accustomed to work in group.

In the end of every meeting, all groups had to compete and tried to get point as much as they can. There, I tried to set their goal, why must they compete each other? Why must they understand the matter? Some groups thought that they had to win that competition and got the reward from me. It didn’t matter, my main purpose of holding the competition is about students’ motivation to learn mathematics. Based on Locke and Latham (2002), a goal is an outcome or attainment an individual is striving to accomplish. Therefore, students’ attitude or students’ action is caused by their goal. In other words, to reach the result they have to pass the process. What they think in their mind and it becomes their goal, will affect their outcome. I believe that every student has different way to reach their goal. But in my class I tried to set their goal together with their friends in group. That’s why I applied collaborative learning in my class. All groups made competition as their reason to burn their motivation to reach the reward. Although it still seemed simple, but at least they had motivation and curiosity in learning mathematics. If they had motivation to learn math,such that by following the process, they would think that actually mathematics was not as difficult as they thought of before.

Like my students did in my class, they had goal and they passed the process to reach their goal, that was competition. I also had goals when I prepared and planned my lesson. One of my goals was to make mathematics be fun, especially for social class. Then I planned activities to support my goal, I called it as a process (outcome). In the first meeting, my class was not maximal. Then I corrected my teaching and repaired it such that my goal could be reached maximal. So, I tried to improve my performance. Based on Locke and Latham (2002), there are four main reasons why goal setting improves performance, and “increase persistence” became my reason to improve my performance in teaching and giving new method in the class. Second meeting, third meeting, and the last meeting, it worked ! Most of students enjoyed my mathematics class and their spirits up, even more at our last meeting. My class was so noisy, but I liked it.  Their enthusiastic up ! 😀

In the end of meeting, there were some students that said to me, “Miss, ngajar di Tarsisius aja dong”. And what did I feel? I was speechless. I could say nothing. It means that my goal to make mathematics be fun was success.

Day by day, I believe that I am in the right position and I can say that “I WILL BE A TEACHER”. Finally I got that statement 🙂

Cheers

Arum Febriani (2009110029)

