This week is my first week to do teaching assistant in SMA Regina Pacis Jakarta. The school is located near Slipi Petamburan busway shelter in west Jakarta. In this school, I have to teach and conduct my Classroom Action Research in XI Social 1 Class. The number of the students is 35 students, which consist of 16 males and 19 females. My master teacher name is Mrs.Eni, she is teaching mathematics for XI science class and also for XII grade.

The first time I come into the classroom to observe the teacher, I can see that the students has motivation to learn mathematics. It can be seen when the teacher was discussing the problems of students’ homework in front of the class. Many of the students were paying attention to teacher’s explanation. Some of them also asked the teacher about some problems that they confused with and also some wording problems that they did not understand from the given problems.  They wanted to know why this problem can be solved using this method while that problem used different method to be solved. From this observation I made a conclusion that those students who asked the teacher already have intrinsic motivation to learn, because they ask the teacher for the purpose of knowing “how it works”.

Later on, on the second day, it came my turn to teach the students. They also give active response to my explanation like what they did with Mrs. Eni. The topic that I taught at that time was probability that specifically discussing about counting the probability of two independence events. Some of them asking about the example of independence event while the others asking about in what case the two events can be said independent to each other. I still remember one female student named Kiky asked how to differ independence event and mutually exclusive event.

The next activity we had after I finished my explanation was solving the problems in students’ textbook together. After some of the problems solved, I gave chance to students to show their work in front of the class, but unfortunately none of them dare to come to the front of class. Then I use extrinsic motivation by promising them a reward of bonus point for students who can solve the problems in front of the class, and then some of them come to the front of class to show their work. It can be seen that external motivation can be used when internal motivation does not work, but of course I realize that we should prioritize the intrinsic motivation first before the extrinsic one.

After all the problems have been corrected together, we continue the lesson by having a quiz. Actually it was my master teacher who asked me to conduct a quiz for the students, the problems for the quiz was come from my master teacher. While the students doing the quiz I observe them. When the time was over, some students submit their paper while at the same time I could see some students do cheating by copying their peers’ work. I that time I thought those students have performance goals, and their goals was to get highest score as possible as they can. From that even, I could see that different students may have different motivation in learning, one may have mastery goals while other just want to have good performance.

Overall, the Teaching Experience program was really useful for me as teacher candidate. It gives me chance to see student motivation from the view of a teacher in real classroom.

Fredy Maulana

