In  this  fourth week of MMSEL course, I learned about many things. As usual, Ms.Mima always opens the course by recalling. It was about the Influence of needs and beliefs on Motivation to Learn. Ms. Mima always ensured that students have understood the previous lesson. After that, Ms. Mima said That We Were going to watch a movie. When I saw the title of the movie from the cover, I was confused because the title is “I not Stupid.” I was confused about that, why it was written without “am”.

Before watching the movie, Ms. Mima distributed sheet material that is still related to the previous topic. Sheet material is discussed on The Influence of Goals on Motivation toLearn. Ms. Mima asked every student to discuss in pairs. Actually, this discussion is very helpful for me because I have Difficulties to understand the material from the paper by myself. I could understand when my friend explained and exemplified about the material. (Thank you my friend).

From the paper, we learned some material:

  • Mastery goals
  • Performance Goals
  • Social goal
  • Work-avoidance goals

Mastery goal is a goal that focuses on accomplishing a task, improvement, and increased understanding” (Midgley, 2001; Pintrich, 2000 on Theory of Motivation sheet, chapter 10). Sometimes, This goal called a learning goal. For example: I always try to understand the influence of motivation on learning prosess.

Performance goal is a goal that focuses on a learner’s ability and competence in comparison to others” (A. Elliot & McGregor, 2000; A. Elliot & Thrash, 2001; Midgley, 2001 on Theory of Motivation sheet, chapter 10). This goal is divided into two, they are performance-approach goal and performance-avoidance goal. performance-approach goal is a goal that emphasizes looking competent and receiving favorable judgment from others. For example: I always study hard to achieve a best score in class. Work-Avoidance Goals is a goal that focuses on avoiding looking incompetent and being judged unfavorably. For example: my friends think that I am the most foolish of them, then I am going to just quiet when we are discussing.

Social goals is a goal to achieve particular social outcomes or interactions (Wentzel, 2002 on Theory of Motivation sheet, chapter 10). Social goals can both increase and decrease motivation and achievement. Social goal also can detract from motivation and achievement if socual goals compete for time with mastery goals. For example:I want show my ability to my friends.

Work-avoidance goals. Actually, it detracts from effort and self-efficacy. It strongly detracts from achievement. For example: I like group activities, I do not need to work so much because some of my friends will do the best.

Ater leaning the material, Ms mima invited us to watch the movie. it told a story about 3 student from EM3 class and their motivation to receive their goals. They are Terry, Kok Pin and Boon Hock.

Terry come from a rich family. He never works hard in his life. He is obedient boy because he always do whatever his mom ask. His mam is very protective because his mom always decides everythingfor him. Boon Hock  also obedient boy because he helps his mother runs the restaurant while studying and taking care of his little brother in the same time boon Hock is different with Terry,  Boon Hock always become a hero when Terry has troubles.

Kok Pin always studies hard to achieve the goals of learning because he has a mother who always gives him punishment if he gets the bad score. Unfortunately, he still never achieve it. Actually, he has Performance-approach goal when he try to do the best to make his mother proud of him. He also has Work-Avoidance Goals when he is asked to study math, he always draw pictures.

I thing “I not stupid” is a very good movie because from the movie, we can see the impressions of parents who use punishments to encourage their children in achieving goals. Sometimes, punishment can be a motivation for children to achieve their goals. But sometimes, punishment can be a scourge that is very frightening for children.

Daenuri Suhendar

2009110017

