Reflection 4

This week, I learned about The Influence of Goals on Motivation to Learn. This materials which is about an outcome an individual hopes to attain (Theories of motivation’ sheets, chapter 10, Anderman & Wolters, 2006; Schink et al., 2008) is the subtopic of the theories of motivation.  Actually, a goal is influenced by needs and beliefs.

Before I learned about this subtopic, Bu Mima asked to class to recall our knowledge about the previous materials; The Influence of needs and beliefs on Motivation to Learn that these materials which the class already have learned. Then, Bu Mima distributed the materials about The Influence of Goals on Motivation to Learn’s sheet, and then she asked to class to read and understand it within ten minutes, after that watched inspiring and educating movie then applied what we (class) learned about goals theories to the movie,  then explained it by writing on blog.

The movie who has the title “I not stupid” tells us about the culture of education. As you see, many schools in many countries judge the grade as the standard that someone is smart or not. In this movie, we will see that the culture showed.

There are three students (Kok Pin, Terry, and Boo Hook) who have different level of ability in learning and come from different background.  Boo Hook came from low economic level that has to care his daughter, helps his mother to serve the customer at his own food court (warung mie), and studying to achieve his goals of learning. From Boo Hook’s character, I learn that Boo Hook has motivation to keep learning and achieve the goals. The goals call “Mastery and Performance Goals”. Mastery goal, a goal that focuses on accomplishing a task, improvement, and increased understanding (The Influence of Goals on Motivation to Learn sheet, Chapter 10, Midgley, 2001; Pintrich, 2000). Performance goal, a goal that focuses on a learner’s ability and competence in comparison to others (The Influence of Goals on Motivation to Learn sheet, Chapter 10, A. Elliot & McGregor, 2000; A. Elliot & Thrash, 2001; Midgley, 2001). It related to my experience, when I was in elementary school, I did not solve the problem in mathematics and since that day I did not want to be the best and did not want others know my abilities. By the time, in junior high school, I already relized that I have to keep on spirit and beliefs that I can solve math problem. Afterwards, I am smart in calculating and in math learning. My bad experience related to the our topic, calls performance-avoidance goal. Why I said that? Because at that time, by the definion of it, an attempt to avoid looking incompetent and being judge unfavorably (The Influence of Goals on Motivation to Learn sheet, chapter 10, K. E. Ryan et al., 2007) . Otherwise, at that time I want to have many friends. In this topic, it calls Social goals, a goal to achieve particular social outcomes or interactions. Social goals can both increase and decrease motivation to learn (Horst et al., 2007). In my case, social makes me down because I was shy at that time, but when I was in junior high school, social makes me up because I want to show my ability to friends. By this case, I have an empowerment to build network and share my ability to teach my friend about math problem.

Terry who comes from rich family and has different parenting style is the fattest friends. He always obey to all parents (especially, own parents). His parents educate him likes princes because his parents always asked him to do what he has to do (just his bussiness). His mother is protective parents. He always obey what his parents say. One  day, in one accident, he has to decide a decision by his own self, at the beginning he did not want to decide something, but then he decide something which were influenced by his friend. Since that day he braves to perform his ability.

Kok Pin who smarts in drawing has a mother who always give him punishment if he always get the bad score and below ninety. Kok Pin always study hard to achive the goals of learning, but he still did not achieve it. Actually, he always tried to do the best to make his mother proud of him. This case calls Performance-approach goal, a goal that emphasizes looking competent and receiving favorable judgment from others. However, his trying to make his mother proud of him did not work effectively because he always get the bad score in math. As we saw the movie, he did not study math, when he study math in his house, he drew something. That case calls Work-Avoidance Goals, study math or complete assignments with as little effort as possible. However, the drawing calls mastery goals because he could draw well.

All of the types of goals are influence on motivation and achievement. If I reflect on myself from the movie, I as a teacher educator hope that can educate students as well as I can do then students can explore their abilities/sklills without have work-avoidance goals or maybe performance-avoidance goals, avoiding looking incompetent and being judged unfavorably.

All of people have unique characteristic and abilities.

