As usual Ms Mima always reminds us about the lesson last week. She asks us about our self actualization, what we would be in 5 or 10 years ago, what’s yourself actualization. The students have different answer because we have different self actualization based on our experience that happened in our life. After that, she gave us a piece of paper; the paper contains five questions about our hopes from this course and SSE. Actually, there are many hopes that I want from this course but the time given it’s very limited for me to write all my hopes in these paper, its make me hurry up for writing so I feel confused  what should I write in this paper. From this course, I want to know how to increase students’ motivation for studying, and also how to increase my motivation as a candidate teacher, from SSE I want to be different teacher that have many strategies to make my students interesting on learning and encourage them to be the best in the world.

Then she asks us to read some articles by using jigsaw reading method, so we can share to each others about the theory that we got from these paper. I got many theories again from this week. The theory can be connected in a real life. For example, I have ever said to my friend “she can singing with a melodious voice it’s because his father’s is a singer” it called entity view in intelligence, because I saw his capability based on his parent’s background. Entity view in intelligence can be defined as social ratings affected by one’s position can influence the others thinking. I have a story it’s about my friend in high school. He never get top ranking 10 in class but when he followed SNMPTN he got Indonesia university in engineering major, He started change from UAN and SNMPTN, he became more diligent than before. I think it’s because his effort so can reach his dream, it called incremental view in intelligence because he wants to try or to put some efforts to reach his goals , so incremental view in intelligence can be define as people can improve they intelligence to get what he/she wants.

Beliefs about value divided into three parts; there is Attainment value, Utility Value and cost. Attainment value is students attach to the task as it relates to their conception of their identity and ideals or their competence in a given domain (Wigfield, 1994) for example, if I doing well in school and being a good students and I work hard to got the best from others it’s because doing well in school has high attainment value for me. Utility Values is how the task relates to future goals, such as; I’m a math student so I must learn about math but in SSE I must have capability in English so I have to learn English, because if I understand and good at English it can be used for my profession as a teacher in the future. I also can teach in international school, because nowadays many schools need math teacher who can teach math using bilingual. Cost is a risk that people should choose to reach their goals. For example, I want to join writing association outside campus activity; however I’m very busy at campus. Therefore, I should choose between campus activity and writing association. I decide to not joining writing association.

Self efficacy means beliefs about capability; it’s divided into; past performance, modeling, verbal persuasion and psychological state.  People also rely daily on verbal persuasion as a self efficacy facilitator by seeking the support of other people when students try to round up the courage to confront a difficult lecture or when attempting to lose weight. So the teacher must support our students by giving good comments to increase their self efficacy. Past performance can influence self efficacy if a history of someone to be success can increase a person’s self efficacy for giving future also will be success. Modeling is if someone is motivated to get him /her goal by seeing other succeeds. For example, “If my friends can be a success people, I believe that I also can become more success than them”. Psychology state is if the students feel fatigue and hungry in classroom, it can reduce their self- efficacy.

Belief about future outcomes I got this topic to explain to the others when discussion jigsaw reading. A belief about future outcome it describes an expectation, if someone expects to succeed, he/she will be motivated to learn. High expectation will be motivated someone to put more efforts to get his/her goals but past experience is the primary factor which influence expectations.  For example, I got a good score in statistic 1 in 3rd semester I belief that I will also get a good score in statistic 2 in 4th semester.

Waaw.. I learn many things last week. It will be useful for me as a teacher candidate to know about belief on motivation.  I have to learn it because I must know how my students can be motivated to learn math and why she/he is not interest with my lesson. I hope I can inrease my students’ motivation to learn and encourage them to become hardworker to get their goals.

that’s all my reflection, thanks Ms.. 🙂

Anugrah Meti Suryani (2009110021)

