On Monday, October 3rd 2011, my class learns about the influence of beliefs on motivation to learn. These are Beliefs about future outcomes (expectations), beliefs about intelligence, beliefs about capability (self-efficacy), and beliefs about value.

In this time, Ms.Mima distributes papers to the class, each student gets one paper. Then, she asks us to answer five questions, these are: what are your expectations of this course (MMSEL’s course), what will the course affect your roles as a teacher candidate, what is your expectation toward SSE, how your learning experience in SSE influence your roles as a teacher (in the future). My friends and I answer these several questions in narrative paragraph.

Then, I begin to answer these questions and reflect to myself, what is my expectation from MMSEL’s course? In the beginning, I state that MMSEL’s course is very useful for me as teacher candidate, because I can know how to motivate students to learn and love mathematics, even to feel that mathematics is part of their lives. From this course I expect it can help me to reach my target in the future. In my case, I find that beliefs of value happens, especially about utility value. Utility value talks about beliefs in a topic, activity, or course of study will be useful for meeting future goals, including career goals. Related to my case before, my goal is become mathematics teacher in secondary school, later I will have many students that come from different backround, I am sure that they will have different motivation in learning mathematics. So I have to know how manage them in a class such that they are able to have quite (even much) motivation in learning mathematics. Then, I learn theory of motivation in this course to reach my goal, such that it is clasified into utility value.

At this time, Ms.Mima asks us to sit beside our pair. Then, I read my pair’s answer. He states that he wants to teacher because he knows that he has capability to speech (talk) in front of many people. In this case, I find that beliefs about capability (self-efficacy) happens. Self-efficacy is beliefs that one is capable of accomplishing a specific task. He believes that he has a capability to become a teacher because teacher is a proffesion that always speech in front of many people (students). He has high confidence to speech in front of many people such that he really believes that he is right to choose teacher as his future profession.

Beside those things that I find, I still reflect to myself and find another thing related to the topic but I do not write on my paper. I find that beliefs about future outcomes (expectations) happens to me. Expectation is a belief about a future outcome. In my case, my outcome is being a teacher. I believe that I will be a success teacher, and now I learn in SSE and get many knowledges that useful for me. I learn hard. I believe when I think that I will be a success teacher, it will make ‘teacher’ becomes a glamour profession for me, of course I am very proud to be a teacher and my struggle will never end.

From those cases, I agree that beliefs influence motivation to learn. When I (personally) believe that MMSEL’s course will help me to be a success teacher, then I have more motivation to learn MMSEL, enjoy this course and get much knowledge to prepare myself becoming a teacher. One thing that I get and it is connected in our future class is about building students beliefs about something (eg : mathematics). When our future students believe that mathematics is a part of their lives and useful, then their motivation to learn mathematics is also increasing. So, as a candidate of mathematics’ teacher, we have to make our students believe that mathematics is important such that they have high motivation in learning mathematics.

Cheers!!!

Arum Febriani (2009110029)

