As usual, every MMSEL course always starts with recalling about the previous material, but the recalling in this time is a bit different because in addition to asking about previous material, Ms. Mima also asked about self-actualization of every student in the 5 to 10 years ahead. Of course, every student must have a different self-actualization, some of them said that they would become teachers, there are also who said to become a lecturer. There are also who would be entrepreneur’s rice, catfish businessman, until want to have foster children. Actually, confusion enveloped my mind when Ms. Mima asked me about self-actualization that I have. Because of the confusion, I can only say that I would become a teacher or a lecturer and became an entrepreneur, but what I thought more extensive than what I said. Different answers from everyone made me realize that everyone has different desires and I guessed this was because everyone has different thoughts and experiences.

The next activity was free writing. Although Ms. Mima gave a clue about what I have to write but I still felt confused about what I would write. I think that my confusion was because of the lack of my focus. Finally, I decided to write it in one of the empty classroom.
Unfortunately, Ms. Mima just gave a little time than I cannot write so much. Huff

The next session was Jigsaw reading. We were divided into several groups, then we were given an article about motivation where each group member should read the different sub-topics, and I had to read material about self-efficacy. Although the word self-efficacy was not unfamiliar for me but I just understand about self-efficacy of the article. Then each member of the groups must split up to make groups with other friends who have the same sub-topics for discussion. This activity really helped me in understanding the contents of the article in depth so that I could infer the notion of self-efficacy and the difference between self-efficacy and self-Concept. Self-efficacy can be defined as a person’s belief in doing certain things to achieve his goals. Self-efficacy is almost similar with self-concept. The difference is the self-concept more general, whereas self-efficacy is more specific. In addition, someone can have a negative self-concept or positive self-concept but someone can have low self-efficacy or high self-efficacy. There are four factors that influence self-efficacy. The first is past performance, it usually occurs when someone has a challenge to do something but he ever did successfully in the past. The second is modeling, where a person can have high self-efficacy when he had seen other people who are successful in doing the same thing. Usually the person says “he can do it, surely I can too”. The third is verbal persuasion, self-efficacy of someone will increase when there are other people who gave encouragement words or motivation words, such as “I’m sure that you can do it”. The fourth is psychology factor. This factor is very influential when someone has a trauma of something, such as trauma to the mathematics so that person has very low self-efficacy in learning math or often called by math anxiety.

After discussion with friends from other group, we went back to the origin group for sharing each other (with friends in origin group). This sharing also very useful for me, because I could learn the other sub-material from my friends. One of my friends explained about beliefs of future outcome. Someone can have an expectation for the future outcome from his experience. For example, who has a good score in the past, may has an expectation that he also can get a good score in the future. Other friend explained about entity view of intelligence and incremental. Entity is different with incremental. Someone who has entity may say “My parents are not good in math, so am I” but someone who has incremental say “I’m not good in math but I can get a good score in math if I study hard”. And the last, the other friend explained about attainment value and utility value. In attainment value, the reason of someone in doing something is because he likes to do it. In utility value, the reason of someone in doing something is because he knows that what he does will be useful for himself in the future.

I learned many things from this course and I believe that what I learned will be useful for me in the future. Thanks so much Ms. Mima and my friends, you made me realize that everyone have different goal and everyone have different beliefs to reach the goal.

Daenuri Suhendar

2009110017

 

