This week, we talk about beliefs, how it could influence learning and motivation to learn. In this week, Mrs. Mimma asked each of us about our self-actualization in 5 or 10 years later. Actually, I haven’t thought about that yet. Since, I also still confuse and not sure what I want, what I will be in the future, I haven’t made decision. Even become a minister of education, I don’t really think and sure that is my future outcome beliefs. Sometimes, I feel like why I should learn and what should I be in the future. I prefer to think what I should do now, what I interest in rather than focus on thinking about future. Well, it just true, then, might be because some experience in the past. What I got was very far from why I expect…that’s such kind of hopeless…

Well, might be this question is related to topic of this week, Belief for future outcomes… Belief… what come in my mind? Of course it’s related to motivation (our course)..hehe. and it’s true. Something that influence our motivation, any kind of cognitive principal that is right based on each individual, we called it as belief. On this meeting we learn beliefs through jigsaw reading. There are four kinds of beliefs that we learn on this meeting that are belief about future outcomes, belief about intelligence, belief about capability and belief about value, the remaining (we can read it by ourselves..hehe). From jigsaw, I got the passage on belief about intelligence, and the others are my friends’ part. Based on my friend explanation belief about future outcomes more stressing in experience in the past would become determinant factor that influence the expectations. It means that students that always success in school would have higher expectations rather than students that have bad experience in school. However, based on our class discussion it depends on each person perception about their expectation. It would vary for each person, may bad experience would make anybody have high expectations or might his/her expectation is down. Of course, it’s our task and our consideration to adjust our students expectations, if they can do better with low expectations we could help them to improve or let students with their so so expectations.

Quite different with belief about future outcomes, belief about intelligence more stress in someone thought about their intelligence now on. There are two perspective of beliefs about intelligence that are entity view of intelligence which is more about the belief that intelligence is stable and fixed can’t be changed over time or through attempt and incremental view of intelligence which is more about perspective that intelligence is not stable but could be changed through effort. Someone with entity view will have mindset that she/he couldn’t do anything because of destiny or gene. Otherwise someone with incremental view will have mindset that he/she couldn’t get good mark because they didn’t try or study hard not because they stupid in something. I think, sometime I have entity view where I thought that I couldn’t sing because my voice is so strange and all of my family is not a singer. Sometimes I also have incremental view when I couldn’t get good score in calculus cause of I don’t have time to study, my time is spent because of I should teach private to earn money..hehe…I could get good score when I have time to study…

How about belief about capability? This belief more about self-efficacy and self-concept that is differ. Self-efficacy more specific rather than self-concept. Someone with negative self-concept could have high self-efficacy. For example, someone could not do algebra, but she/he good in number.

Last beliefs that we learn in class, belief about values, that consist of three types: attainment, utility and cost. Attainment value is more about interest and capable to do something. Utility value is more about someone who doing something because some kind of no choice for them, because any demand to master something for reach the goal. Cost value is more about consideration to give up or engage in some task with some thought, may be cost, time and other.

This all of beliefs (expectation/future outcomes), intelligence, capability and value would help us to understand why our students not engage/engage in some task, and take some action to help them engage in some task.

After this jigsaw reading, we analyze our peer writing in previous task. I found that most of the belief of my friends is more about expectations (future outcomes), value and capability. This is very good of him, almost all of the beliefs. I’m just almost similar, quite different.

I hope by learning this, I can more understand my students belief to increase their motivation, and keep in the track of whom with enough expectations in engage their own learning…

Keep Learning….:-)

 

 

