If in the last meeting we were dealing with theories of needs and its influence in motivation, now, we examined the influence of belief on motivation.

Paper distributed. Bu Mima asked us to write about our expectation in joining MMSEL course and how it is affecting our role as a teacher someday. We were free to choose the place to write and I choose a spot beside a trashcan. J Quite extreme but it was comfortable enough. I wrote about one page plus several lines on this part. In that paper, I mostly stated that MMSEL course would be beneficial for me as a teacher in the future.

After that, we entered the class again. I thought we would do something with the writing, but we were given materials by Bu Mima. Fortunately, we were not asked to read it all. We did jigsaw reading. There are four students in one group and each student read one subtopic. At that time, I got the first subtopic which is “beliefs of future outcome”.

Actually, I like reading but when it comes to something about psychology, I think it is so tiring (maybe reading materials in the first semester are so much that I got trauma). However, this time, it was strange. I found the article is exciting.

The article stated that students who usually get good grades will have better expectation on their future. It also happens with students who usually get bad mark. They may have less expectation for their future. Imagine you are a first grade student I senior high. You mostly get good grades, your teacher supports you, and everything is just wonderful. In the effect you may be more confident on your final examination result and your belief that the future will as wonderful as right now. Conversely, it will destruct your belief or your confidence on the final examination if you continuously get low score, right? Okay, I got it. After that, I shared it with other friends in my group.

The next part was about future of intelligence. This one is very reflecting what happened in the society. Have you ever heard someone said, “Aaah, of course this kid is smart. His Dad is professor.” This belief in intelligence is called entity view of intelligence. While the other said that, “She is smart for sure, she always study till late in the night”. This belief called incremental view of intelligence. The first view states that intelligence is something we inherit while the other one states that it is something we put effort on.

It is quite similar with the theory of self concept VS self-efficacy. In self concept, you say, “I can do this but I definitely cannot do that”. While if in self-efficacy, “I can do this while I can do that if I…”. it is like you put an effort more on something you are not really good at.

The last part is about value. My friend got a very good example on this. For example, you said, “because I’m a good writer, I want to be a novel-writer one day”. It means you value something because of your attainment on it. The other may say, “I want to be a novel-writer, because it makes me famous”. When it comes to benefits you get from something, it is called utility value. And if you cancel your dream of being a novel writer because it wastes your time and money, it comes to cost value.

Now, there are so many theories, right? Thanks to my friends that they could explain it well. So, what is the relationship between belief and motivation?

Generally, the way someone believes on something may influence their motivation. It can be belief of what happen next, which is affected by past experience. It can be their belief on who they really are. I think if someone really believes that he/she cannot struggle for improvement then his/her motivation will be less compared to the one who believes that she will make it if trying.  It also can be their thoughts on their own activity, whether it is important, beneficial, or giving disadvantages. If someone thinks an activity is unimportant, he/she will not be motivated to do it, regardless how valuable the activity actually.

So, I think it is important to examine belief as one of factors in motivation.

