Huah,, MMSEL course is remind me to Educational Psychology course again. In the first week, there is motivation’s theory. Then, in the second week, there is Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. It is about theory of five humans’ need by Abraham Maslow. There are Survival, safety, belonging, self-esteem, and self- actualization. I think that all of them are very important to support human life.

Maslow said that the theory is hierarchy, so have to pass step by step, from the survival until self-actualization. However, I think that this theory is haven’t to step by step. For example, someone can fulfill belonging need, but she/he can’t fulfill survival need enough. I have a friend that he fulfills his love and acceptance from peers although he has enough shelter and food. Something likes that. It is real 🙂

The others think about Maslow’s theory is self-actualization. It is need to reach the full potentials and capable in the some situation. Everybody has different self-actualization. I mean, everybody feel capable and be a number one in the different situations. My friend has a self-actualization when she has the greater mark from the others. For me, when I teach my students, and I feel smarter than her, so I have high self-actualization 🙂

After I learnt about the Maslow’s theory, I also learnt about The Need for Self-Determination. There are the needs for competence, Praise and Criticism, The Need for Autonomy, The Need for Relatedness, The Need to preserve self-worth. Ms. Mima designed a nice activity in the classroom. She divided us in pairs, and then we discussed in the group of four or five. My group discussed about The Need for Relatedness. After that, we have to present our discussion in the role play in 10 – 15 minutes.

We present to class that relatedness is describing the feeling of connected to others, love and respect. It is shown by communicating between teacher with students, or student with other students. Students are more engaged behaviorally, cognitively and emotionally, in classroom activities when they believe their teacher like, understand, and empathize with them (H. A. Davis, 2006; Furrer & Skinner, 2003). My group compare the differences between teacher who relatedness to students and not. It is very interesting. Because I learn much from this activity, also from the others group who get the different topic. We guess the others’ group role play. So, we can share each other.

I wait the next nice activity Ms 🙂

